“they used a Korean fc for their [Chinese/Japanese/Thai] character because that’s how they wanted the character to look” if you wanted your character to look Korean and you envisioned them having those features, how about just making them Korean…?? it’s like someone without colour blindness envisioning something to be painted red but they use purple instead because red isn’t pretty enough like what kind of logic??

It’s usually an excuse for basically “I like this Korean fc but I want my character to be Japanese/Chinese/Thai”. But like, imo, they could make their character born and raised in those countries if they want to but just keep their ethnicity?? Or, yeah, just make them Korean lol. It usually applies to canon characters, I mean. Like… using Korean fcs for Japanese cartoon/comic characters etc.

& I wouldn’t say that certain “features” are specific to different Asian ethnicities… without fashion, makeup and other beauty trends, it’s not easy to tell people’s ethnicities apart. At least, from my experience. Although people pretend to know, lol. My brother’s girlfriend always gets asked if she’s Filipino. But that’s usually just some colourism for you.

Leave a comment